Tags

, , , ,

As I was cleaning up my office before my mother-in-law and brother-in-law came over last week, I noticed that the cat had peed on a shawl I’d been working on for months. I mean MONTHS. It’s been picked up and put down many times.

I reluctantly threw it in the trash because I knew it couldn’t be salvaged. I was so proud of it. I worked on it relentlessly until I figured out certain stitches. The yarn was expensive, and I really didn’t want to throw it away. I was forced to, though. I looked it hoping I could find a way to fasten it off and throw it in the washer. I thought “okay, I can suck it up and finish the row, fasten it off, and put it in the washer and then I can finish it” but as I picked it up to examine how many stitches I’d have to work while holding on to piss soaked yarn, I realized she had not only peed on the piece itself she had also urinated on the skein.

When I threw it away, I was upset. The cat could tell I was upset, she ran and hid. The thing is, it was halfway done. I had put work into it. It may not have been the most difficult pattern I’ve ever done, but it was tough to figure out the motifs at first. The more I thought about it though, I realized it’d been sitting in my room, or in a bag, or in my yarn chest, for over a year. I had put it down and rarely picked it back up. As I was looking at the pattern, I discovered that the reason I had probably done so was because it was TOO easy. It was repetitive. I had to repeat certain stitches until it reached a certain length, in this case, enough to wrap around me.

I have ADD. I’m able to sit down  for hours and type, or sit down and crochet for hours and be fine, but I often forget about what I’m doing, and don’t go back to it. It’s not that I’ve never finished a project. I’ve finished multiple projects, but it takes me A LONG TIME. Much like it takes me an insanely long time to finish a book unless I’m completely and utterly involved with it. I don’t have the attention span for it.

I remember I made a present for my cousin, his new wife, and their new daughter. It was a granny square blanket, alternating colors, 120 squares. This thing was massive. It was the size of a king or queen sized comforter. I fought through this pattern because I absolutely hate doing granny squares. Not because they’re hard, they’re easier than…the easiest thing you can think of. I just hate having to stitch them all together. Needless to say, I finished the squares in no time because I was able to finish them quickly and efficiently, but it took me forever to sew them all together because I didn’t have the attention span for it. Every year I always have it in my mind that I’m going to make Christmas presents. I always tell myself “I’ll get started in June” because I know that that’s the only way all these gifts will get done. But I don’t. I don’t usually get started until late October, and by the time Christmas rolls around, I panic because I don’t have them all done, so they get put to the side and forgotten about.

I currently have 3 blankets, 4 stuff toys, and 2 other random things that I don’t remember what they are sitting either in a laundry basket or in my yarn chest. I want to get started on another project…but I don’t know what to do or where to start. I really should probably just pick up one of my unfinished projects, but let’s be honest…it won’t happen.

I have 2 binders full of patterns, and I’ve probably one used about 7 of them. I want to start my own little challenge. I want to start from the beginning, and complete one project a month. I don’t quite know what the hell I’m going to do with it all, but I want to at least start something. I have so much unused yarn, crocheting is something I enjoy, and I’d like to learn to knit…better than I do.

I’m going to toot my own horn here for a second. I’m freakin’ awesome at what I do. I know I could be better. I know I still have things to learn, like doing hairpin lace, for example. Still, I’m awesome. I’ve made large blankets, I’ve made bags, hats, mittens, fingerless gloves, many, many scarves, baby blankets, and toys. I’ve knitted my guest book, I’ve made the ring bearer pillow. I know what the hell I’m doing and I’m not afraid to try a new pattern.

So, challenge accepted. I’ll start today. I tried this once before, got 2 days in and forgot about it. Not this time…hopefully. Anyone who wants to join me is more than welcome. Take this as a knitting or crocheting challenge. We’ll figure this shit out.

