Tags

, , , , , ,

FINALLY! I’ve been trying to get a group together to do some crocheting and knitting projects in my community, and I have finally rallied a few girls to learn and share their creativity! Since I have a few girls that are just starting out on crocheting, I worked with another beginner to find a pattern simple enough that would suit everyone’s needs.

Together we decided on the School Spirit Throw. It’s easy enough, like I said, and it’s a great beginner project. It only uses one stitch throughout the entire project, and instead of using the single crochet, it uses a double crochet. I love projects that use simple stitches because for me they’re quick to complete…if I don’t get bored with it.

Either way I’m really excited about it because this is something I enjoy. Before I moved from South Dakota, I had played around with the idea of doing this at the local wine bar, but I couldn’t connect with enough people to get anything going. At this point, I don’t quite care if all I start off with is 2 people, as long as I have someone to share my hobby with. I’m honestly geeking out about it so much I almost want to get started on it right now.

My selling point on this, and maybe it was the wrong way to go about it, was aimed at stay at home mothers in the area. I wanted the women here, mothers or not, to have an outlet and be able to hang out with other adults. Either to spend time with peers away from their husbands and children, or to expand their friend circle. I’m not saying I have a problem with bringing children along, or if their kids are old enough to want to learn, but I just figured it would be a good way to escape our daily lives.

I’ll post pictures later in the week 🙂

