Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

About a boy

When I asked my nephew to be the ring bearer at the wedding, he seemed slightly confused. He’d never heard of such a task, but since I asked him to do it, and sound really excited about it, he was really excited about it.

He is 4 years old, unbelievably smart, and thrilled to have such an important role in the ceremony. I explained to him that he would be dressed very nice and walk down a long aisle, holding a pretty pillow. That tied to it would be our rings. That we simply couldn’t do the ceremony without him. “That’s weird Auntie Kelley” he said, but then “That sounds like fun!” Later on the hubby explained that they would be dressed exactly the same (or close to it) and since my nephew is absolutely smitten with my hubby, stars filled his eyes and his excitement grew. We keep reminding him of what an important role he has, and every time we ask him, he says “I’m carrying a pillow made of rings.” We all get a kick out of it, but then tell him, “No, you’re carrying a pillow that has rings ON it.” He laughs and says “Duh!” and smiles his huge toothy grin.

Onto the pillow!

When I was looking at ring pillows, as I had said before, the one I was looking at, while simple, was about $35 or $40. Not that that’s an astronomical amount of money, but it was more than I wanted to spend. Truth be told, those things can get PRICEY. Why, though? It’s a ten inch pillow adorned with some ribbon and flower. That’s all it is.

I started weighing my options. What could I do to make my own pillow? I looked in every nook and cranny of every craft store, home store, and discount store and couldn’t find a single small white pillow that I could dress up. So I started with the facts:

I can knit, simply, but I can knit
I can crochet.
I can use a sewing needle
I have a sewing machine, but I’m not well versed in how to use it.
I have ribbon
I have fiberfill stuffing
I have a few silk flowers left

Now, to sort of preface…mid-face…whatever…I’m not entirely sure about this ring bearer pillow yet. ONLY BECAUSE I found this after I had already made the one I now possess. I’m still in process of debating whether or not to rip out the ribbon and flowers that currently embellish my knitted pillow and make a silk flower to go on the top. It’s a decision I’ll have to make soon. It seems relatively easy for my crafty hands to do, and I’m 100% positive I can pull it off. I think it’ll be a matter of trial and error, but nonetheless possible. Something like that, would probably cost you the same amount of money that the pillow I made, cost me. Just some food for thought.

There are also some really wonderful ideas for alternative, cheap ring bearer pillows on that Martha Stewart site. I’ve gotten a lot of ideas courtesy of Martha Stewart. That bitch is crafty. Check out her whole wedding site.

ANYWAY. Here’s the pillow and how I made it. Take it as you will. You are welcome to the pattern, to recreate it, and add whatever adornments you wish.

What You’ll Need

  • 1 Skein Aran Red Heart Super Saver
  • 1 skein of a shiny yarn in white (I used the baby stuff. Red heart makes it. Not the heavy stuff, but the lighter, thinner strand of baby yarn)
  • Size 5.5mm knitting needle
  • 7/8″ ribbon, color of your choice
  • 1/2″ ribbon, color of your choice
  • Small silk wildflowers of your choosing
  • Sewing needle
  • Thread to match ribbon
  • scissors
  • Embroidery thread
  • Yarn Needle
  • Fiberfill stuffing

Working with both strands of yarn, cast on 38 stitches
Knit the first row, purl the next row. Continue in this fashion until it has reached your desired size.
(Here comes the most unhelpful portion of the blog) I can’t remember how many rows I did. It was somewhere between 26 and 32 rows I think.
Cast off your stitches loosely, and fasten off.
Make two.

When those are finished, figure out which one you wish to be the top, and which to be the bottom. Take the piece you wish to be the top, and embroider your initials in the top left corner.
Take your wider ribbon, find the center of your top piece, and sew ribbon on top and on bottom, leaving the middle loose and unattached to the piece.
Cut 18″ from the smaller sized ribbon, slide underneath the first ribbon, and tie in a knot around the wider ribbon.
With your sewing needle, and thread, attach the center of your ribbons to the middle of the top piece of the pillow to secure it in place.
Take both pieces, and with one color of your yarn and yarn needle, begin sewing both pieces together. Work around three edges.
With the last edge unworked, begin stuffing your pillow with the fiberfill stuffing.
Begin sewing the last edge, stuffing as you go until it reaches your desired firmness. Sew until finished. Fasten off.

Slide stems of your silk flowers underneath the wider ribbon where it isn’t sewn down, and bend the tops so they sit on top of the wider ribbon. With your smaller sized ribbon, tie a knot around the flowers to hold them in place. Secure it with hot glue if desired.

If I decide to make the flower to go on it instead I’ll upload that picture.

